Padma Bhushan Award to Prof. N. S. Ramanuja Tatacharya

Professor N. S. Ramanuja Tatacharya was awarded a Padma Bhushan 2016 for his scholarly achievements in Indian philosophy. Congratulations to Professor Ramanuja Tatacharya!

Padma Awards (together with Bharat Ratna Award) are the highest civilian distinctions in India and are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

In preceding years Padmas were awarded (among others) to: Prof. Bettina Bäumer (2015), Prof. Karl H. Potter (2011), Prof. Sheldon I. Pollock (2010), Prof. Debi Prasad Chattopadhyaya (1998) and Prof. Bimal K. Matilal (1990).

2 Replies to “Padma Bhushan Award to Prof. N. S. Ramanuja Tatacharya”

  1. great news, and very well deserved. just a note: the government doesn’t award the padmabhūṣaṇa to non-citizens; several of the recipients listed actually received the “padmaśrī.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *